I MINA' TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2012 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 545-3/(cor)

Introduced By:

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

T.R. Muña Barnes

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

B.J.F. Cruz

Relative to recognizing the Guam Micronesia Island Fair, its organizers and sponsors for their commitment to showcasing the vibrant cultures of Micronesia, promoting and perpetuating our regions' customs and traditions; and commemorating the 25th Anniversary of the Guam Micronesia Island Fair, "Celebrating 25 Years of Unity Through Culture."

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA' TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the Guam Micronesia Island Fair is the annual signature cultural event of the Guam Visitors Bureau, showcasing the vibrant cultures of Micronesia; and

WHEREAS, for the last quarter century, delegations from the Federated States of Micronesia, Rota, Saipan, and Tinian and the Republics of Kiribati, Nauru, the Marshall Islands, and Palau, have gathered on Guam to commemorate the largest cultural event in the region; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Micronesia Island Fair showcases Micronesia's master carvers, blacksmiths, traditional fishing experts, jewelers, weavers, dancers, musicians, and chefs, and allows visitors to the fair to experience first-hand, the customs that have been passed down and perpetuated through generations; and

WHEREAS, 25 years ago, on August 26, 1987, the Honorable Governor Joseph F. Ada signed Substitute Bill 464-19 (LS) into Public Law 19-07 establishing the Guam Micronesia Island Fair; and

WHEREAS, upon his transmission of Public Law 19-07 to *I Liheslaturan Guåhan*, Governor Ada anticipated "a future of greater cooperation between the people who share the common heritage of this beautiful and bountiful Pacific Ocean,"; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Joseph F. Ada will serve as this year's Honorary Chief; and

WHEREAS, the island of Guam is proud to host our brothers and sisters from across the Pacific Ocean at the 25th Annual Guam Micronesia Island Fair from October 5th through the 7th at Governor Joseph Flores Memorial Beach Park in Tumon; and

WHEREAS, we commemorate the 25th Anniversary of the Guam Micronesia Island Fair "Celebrating 25 Years of Unity Through Culture," and continue to strengthen our bonds and move forward in solidarity with our brothers and sisters from across Micronesia and the Pacific through our shared values, our arts and traditions; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina' Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam recognize the Guam Micronesia Island Fair, its organizers and sponsors for their commitment to showcasing the vibrant cultures of Micronesia, promote and perpetuate our regions' customs and traditions and commemorate the 25th Anniversary of the Guam Micronesia Island Fair, "Celebrating 25 Years of Unity Through Culture"; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that

- 1 copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to His Excellency Emanuel Mori,
- 2 President of the Federated States of Micronesia; His Excellency Christopher J.
- 3 Loak, President of the Republic of the Marshall Islands; His Excellency Sprent
- 4 Dabwido, President of the Republic of Nauru; His Excellency Anote Tong,
- 5 President of the Republic of Kiribati; His Excellency Johnson Toribiong, President
- of the Republic of Palau; the Honorable Sebastian Anefal, Governor of the State of
- 7 Yap; the Honorable Benigno R. Fitial, Governor of the Commonwealth of the
- 8 Northern Mariana Islands; the Honorable Lyndon H. Jackson, Governor of the
- 9 State of Kosrae; the Honorable Johnson S. Elimo, Governor of the State of Chuuk;
- the Honorable John Ehsa, Governor of the State of Pohnpei; the Honorable Joseph
- F. Ada and to the Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REG	ULARLY ADOPTI	ED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES
OF I MINA' TRE	NTAI UNU NA LIH	ESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THIS
DAY OF	2012.	
JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D.		RORY J. RESPICIO
Speaker		Chairperson, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES
Legislative Secretary